When we had Sophie I felt like I was really organised, I mean being a Midwife and working in Labour Ward, I was prepared for “the labour” and had much anticipation and excitement over it. I can even say that, apart from the “pushing” I enjoyed the experience.  I know that’s kind of weird but I know other people who can say the same thing. 

I thought I knew what to pack for the baby and I had been knitting nappy covers from various patterns for weeks before she was born (I was too embarrassed to take them with me first time round but they will be going this time).  One thing I found though was, because I didn’t know what sex my baby was going to be, I often had a mental block on colours and patterns.  As a result, I never knitted a hat for her and I ended up just taking a cotton one that my sister-in-law gave us.  So, this time I have decided that I want Number 2 to have a hand knitted hat from Mummy…… 

The hat was fun to knit and I have enjoyed the colours, it’s a little irregular but overall pretty good.  It’s the first time I have used my handspun and I am very proud of myself – I have heaps of yarn left over so now I am after some good booty patterns to make a matching pair, any suggestions?

Number 2’s Hospital Hat


Pattern:
Basic hat pattern loosely based on  Kerrie’s Newborn Hats 
Yarn: Small amounts of handspun silky wool tops – 2ply fingering weight – hand dyed with food colouring (see previous posts).
Needles:  3.75mm  DPN’s to obtain gauge
Project started:  31st March 2007
Project finished:  31st March 2007(I borrowed this format idea from Serendipity)

