Cashmere scarf before washing

Horizontal Herringbone Pattern 

Pattern: Horizontal Herringbone as seen on the Sheep in the City
Yarn: 62g (250yards) Colourmart 100% cashmere DK weight (2/7NM) in Darkwood”
Needles:  7mm bamboo straights
Project started:  05 April 2007
Project finished:  10th April 2007

Project notes:  I had to knit several swatches before I was happy with the stitch gauge but it was worth it.  In hindsight I would have washed the skein before knitting to gauge the shrinkage.  This is recommended on the Colourmart website but true to form I just did things my own way.  Initially the scarf was 125cm long but after washing it shrank to 109cm long.  The length is still alright, especially for it’s intended purpose (under a business jacket), but I preferred the longer length.  The cashmere is incredibly soft and luxurious and worth every cent.  A lot of the stitch definition has been lost with the washing so maybe washing it by hand or at a lower temperature would have been better…….following instructions is a good idea.

