Lately I have been reading a lot of this blog, it’s not really knitting related and I can’t remember how I came across it but it’s kind of how I am trying to live my life and embodies many of the thoughts that I have and wish to instill in my family as we grow. Many of Rhonda Jean’s suggestions are things we already do within our household and extended family but reading her posts inspire me to strive for better…grow more of our own food, cook more and even to do the basics (which sometimes are not so basic!).

I have been buying a yummy natural yoghurt from my local fruit and veg shop for sometime now, it’s inexpensive, I like it and I now have Sophie eating it on her breakfast with “straw” and “nana” and tiny bit of honey. When I was in my early teens my Dad went through a stage of making yoghurt – I remember him getting fresh milk from the farm down the road, boiling it up in what seemed like a huge pot, adding acidophilus capsules or some natural yoghurt if he had it, and letting it sit on the bench overnight to set. I think it used to annoy Mum, who didn’t like natural yoghurt, but I loved it, especially blended up with a banana and a handful of raw oats (I was on a wheat free diet imposed by our formidable Naturopath Zenon Gruba who was brilliant).

I digress, on Friday morning we were down to our last few spoons of yoghurt and Rhonda Jean has written some posts on making her own natural yoghurt and quark, which both look amazing, you can follow her recipe here. I kind of followed it but I didn’t have any powdered milk, I don’t have a cooking thermometer and I don’t have a crock pot. This is how I made yoghurt:

Ingredients:

4 Cups milk (bought from supermarket – one day I’ll have a house cow :)….)

3 tablespoons commercial natural yoghurt

Method:

1. Heat milk until almost boiling (small bubbles form around edges) while stirring occasionally to prevent scalding (pretty much the same but it’s guess work with the temperature).

2. Allow to cool until it is just warm on wrist (like when you test babies bottles).

3. Mix commercial yoghurt with 1/2 cup heated milk until smooth and then add remaining milk.

4. Put yoghurt into jars (I boiled 2 jars for 5-10 mins and used them hot) then wrap to keep warm. I put one jar in a Tommy Tippy Bottle carrier alongside a second jar of boiling water and one jar was wrapped in a towel with a boiling water jar.

5. Leave to set for several hours – I left mine for about 4 hours and resulted in a slightly runny, very mild yoghurt (very yummy).

I would recommend following Rhonda Jeans recipe – I am going to get a thermometer one of these days and I think I might give it a go in the rice cooker….will let you know how it goes!

