Erin’s Cardi – Completed

Pattern: Patons 8 ply Herdwick for outdoor kids – Book Number 630 – Pattern Number 1 – Size E with modifications
Yarn: Bendigo Woolen Mills – Rustic/Peppercorn – approx. 600g
Needles: 4mm straights
Commenced: April 2006
Completed: January 2008

Notes: I knitted this for my petite sister from a children’s pattern. Because I hate seaming up garments I modified the pattern to knit the body all in one piece, knitting the sleeves and band/collar separately. I knitted the cuffs, lower band and band all on size 4mm needles as I don’t really like the look of tight cuffs – I like the continuity of the same size through some patterns – and this meant that the collar and band were probably slightly bigger than they would otherwise have been (I just hope I have stretched the band enough to minimise future sagging). The buttons were purchased from my local fabric store DJ’s Discount Fabric and I am really happy with the choice. Seaming was done in a combination of backstitch (as recommended in the original pattern) for the arm seams and underside of the collar and mattress stitch along the band. I may add the belt that was in the original pattern but I am undecided (my sister likes belts so she may want it) and am going to wait until it has been tried on and tested! Loved knitting it and really like the result.

