There are a few bottling peaches planted around the old farm and one of these trees is at the front corner of our house. Sophie, Sam and I have spent many mornings at the peach tree gorging on beautiful sweet peaches but the tree remains laden. Last week I went out with a bucket and filled it in about 5 minutes with preserving in mind.

Yummy Peaches

My sister gave me this pot 2 years ago and it’s perfect for this!

My mum used to preserve fruit all the time – apricots, apples and quinces were preserved one way or another (ie apricots in jars or as jams, apples in frozen apple pies that we are all winter and quinces in quince jelly) – and I often think of this. We don’t eat a lot of preserved/canned fruit so we really don’t need much in our store cupboard but it would be nice to be able to give some away so I figured I am going to try and do 3 buckets. 1 bucket of whole peaches yielded me 10 jars of preserved peaches and I figure that we’d use about 1 a month but, as my sister pointed out, we’ll probably use more if we have them. 3 buckets would give us around 30 jars so that would be enough for us and plenty to give away.

This is all the “waste” from the process but I really don’t see it as waste as it all went to the chooks and will return as eggs!

Peach peels and seeds

This is how I did it:

Step 1 – Washed the jars in hot soapy water and then boiled them for about 20 minutes

Step 2 – Peeled, deseeded and chopped the peaches

Step 3 – Tightly packed the peach pieces into the jars

Step 4 – Filled the jars with water and put lids on

Step 5 – Boiled the jars for about 20 minutes

All of the jars have sealed and they look great! Overall I am happy with this effort although I am yet to sample them but why bother when there are so many fresh ones on the tree! đŸ™‚

