I was reading Our Patch this morning after being referred there by a Fregie Sack customer and I really can’t believe that I haven’t read it before.  It’s a lovely blog but made even more so for me by this post.  It has inspired me so I have joined up Kiva and made a donation.  Now I know this sort of thing is not for everyone but if it’s something that appeals to you I urge you to go and have a look – for $USD25 you can make a difference to someone else’s life (really all it means is buying one less t-shirt a year for example).


This is the person I am supporting with my micro loan of $USD25.  Her name is Iysha Crosbie and Iysha would like to purchase a bed and bedding, medicines and sanitary items.  She is a midwife and that is close to my heart – I can’t imagine what she must go through in her job!  I always had the support of a tertiary hospital, experienced obstetricians and midwives and women living in the Western World with (most likely) healthier diets and monitored iron levels.

Anyway, if you have the time and inclination, jump online at Kiva

When I donated this morning Iysha’s loan still had a long way to go to being fulfilled but when I just looked it had been fully funded!  It’s great!

