I have finally finished my very first PAIR of hand processed, hand spun, hand dyed and hand knit socks and I am very very proud of myself. I feel like I have achieved a milestone in my ideals of clothing production – pity it has taken such a LONG time as I could never keep my family in hand knit socks at this rate :). Oh well – the journey is as much a pleasure as the results!

Pattern: Cable Rib Socks by Jenny Occleshaw (Printed in Creative Knitting Issue ?)
Yarn: Hand spun gifted fleece (some sort of Downs breed), hand dyed by me to self stripe
Needles: 2.75mm DPN
Commenced: 5 June 2008
Completed: 25 July 2008

Notes: Easy to knit and a very easy way to keep track of knitting in the round as no stitch markers were needed for this pattern. Cable may have been a bit “lost” in the self striping yarn but I enjoyed it still. I would knit these again but next time I think I will make them slightly smaller.

