I have finished Pete’s socks – finally – and have cast on another pair. I think I may have the sock bug but only a small dose. I bought both balls of yarn at a Spotlight sale some time ago and I paid about $3 per ball so it makes for pretty cheap socks (obviously discounting my time which when it’s all said and told wasn’t all that much). I used the pattern on the back of the ball band for the first pair – obtained gauge with the stated needle – and pretty much liked it however I could have used a tighter gauge for my liking.

Magic Stripe socks for Pete

Pattern: Lion Brand Magic Stripes Basic Socks
Yarn: 1 skein Lion Brand Magic Stripes (75% wool/25% nylon)
Needles: 3.25mm DPN
Project started: 16th July 2008
Project completed: 23rd August 2008

Notes: Knitted them EXACTLY as the pattern stated. Next time I will knit them at a tighter gauge as I prefer the look of tighter knit socks. Nice yarn to work with and a quick knit.

Despite earlier reservations about the colour Pete loves them so I now have a very happy recipient of hand knit socks to knit for all Summer!

