There has been so much going on around here – so much to blog about but no time to blog – but today we I have taken a day out.  Last week Sam went to hospital via ambulance due to his first ever asthma attack and, following the wisdom of the paediatrician, we spent the night in hospital.  It’s all fine now and we’ve had our asthma education so we are all proficient at using the spacer, inhaler and mask.  Sam recovered well over the next few days and I headed off to Melbourne for the 3rd Certificate of Spinning day.

Sam got sick with gastro – poor Pete did so well with him –  and had the symptoms for 4 days so this week is  stay at home week to make sure we don’t spread it around.  No Playgroup, no Storytime.  What could be more entertaining for 2 little ones than wool processing!

We started with kettle dyeing and came out with these:

kettle dyed roving

kettle dyed roving

They are 250g each so I am going to keep some for me and put the rest in my shop.  I love the orangy gold that the sandstone colourway produced and I am a sucker for blues…

Then, while Kung fu Panda was on (their new favourite but I fast forward to scary bits) I put some of the Alpaca and Silk through the drum carder for Henley Perfected – yes, this is an epic but I am still determined to spin the yarn for it, then dye the yarn, then knit the garment… I think I am looking at about year 2015 for completion :).

50:50 alpaca silk

50:50 alpaca silk

These batts always make me think of Santa’s beard…

Then, as a result of Certificate of Spinning motivation, we pulled out 3 of the gifted fleeces from Pete’s other cousin and started off the scouring process:

Buckets of Joy!

Buckets of Joy!

5 buckets on the go – Sophie had fun dumping in the fleeces but I had to keep asking her not to put it in lock by lock, the water was so hot but she was so careful – I think she may be a natural :).  The fleeces have been heavily skirted as they were pretty daggy and had/have a lot of grass seeds so they were fairly small.  Here is the last fleece from that bag:

Biggest fleece

Biggest fleece

This fleece is larger than the rest of this bag full so it will soak tonight when then others are put out to dry…  Next step is to hide them somewhere in the house until I have them all combed and ready to spin… under the bed is full of Mum’s yarn and there are not many other places…I’ll work out something :).

One bag down, 7 to go!

Lastly today, I have combed out a heap of fibre to knit another beanie and Erin’s second fingerless mitt.  The man who leaves fleeces for me came by the other day and asked if I’d like some Alpaca.  He explained that there are quite a few around that get shorn and the fleeces get thrown out so if I’d like them they are all mine… What could I say?  Yes, Yes, Yes!

cross breed fibre

I have decided on my end of year project for the Certificate of Spinning and have started to gather supplies.  More later.

I’m off to bottle some extra tomatoes for whole tomatoes during winter!

