I seem to have found my straps in knitting again – not many photos to share but I have been doing it!  Friday a week ago I started the Girl/Boy Zipper Jacket from Patons 8ply Herdwick for Outdoor Kids – the book title just sounds like the patterns in this book should be knit for my children! – and by the Sunday I had finished the back and both the left and right sides.  I cast on for the sleeves – both at once – and knew it would languish in my current knitting bag for a long time…  Why are sleeves so non inviting?  The thing about this jacket is that we (meaning Sophie and I) decided to put stripes in it which has made it more exciting for me to knit and used up some of Nanny Gwen’s stash and it is in colours that Sophie has chosen so it may actually get worn.

Fronts and Back of Jacket

Fronts and Back of Jacket

Almost there

Almost there

I picked up the sleeves again yesterday – a week isn’t too bad at all – and was almost up to the underarm decrease when I thought I should check how long the sleeves should be… 25cm from beginning along side seam.  Ok. BUT, for the stripe combination I have used on the fronts and back it only measures 21cm so I need another 4 cm before starting the underarm and raglan sleeve cap.  No big issue, I just do 2 extra stripes at the beginning of the sleeve and then they will match up the body.

Here’s the hitch, I have knitted 21cm on BOTH sleeves when I have realised this.  What would you do?  Would you a) frog the lot and begin again,  b) just keep knitting stripes and then match the raglan up again c) somehow frog the cuffs and put the extra stripes there and not worry about the shaping being not quite right, d) some possibility I haven’t thought of?

Please let me know what you’d do and I think about it for a day or two and then pick it up again… bugger!

