Our last class was on Alpaca and Mohair fibre and it was such a great eye opener. The exposure to different fibres and the knowledge leads to so many possibilities. After reading about Trudi’s Personal Sock Club and dreaming for about 2 years to be part of a fibre club I have decided that after the spinning course I am going to do my own Personal Fibre Club. I have so many wool fibres and a few other fibres that I am going to make up bags of different fibres and either put them into my club unblended or maybe
by the time I get around to setting it up I will blend them. I am going to give myself lots of time to set it up, maybe do some natural dyeing of some fibres and some non-natural dyeing of others. I am hoping to
get some nylon to make sock blends too….time will tell!

20g 2 ply 100% Alpaca spun woollen drying over the fire - 12 WPI

20g 2 ply 100% Alpaca spun woollen drying over the fire - 12 WPI

I have finished the Alpaca 2 ply Woollen in medium weight and have to admit I was surprised at how much it fluffed up with setting of the ply. I have also finished spinning the Alpaca 2 ply worsted which is supposed to be a light weight yarn – I am yet to do the WPI card but I suspect I will have to do this sample again.

2 ply Aplaca - Over exposed  - Woollen Spun 12 WPI

2 ply Aplaca - Over exposed - Woollen Spun 12 WPI

Alpaca Homework - 2 ply woollen spun

Alpaca Homework - 2 ply woollen spun

I am now spinning up some English Leicester for my final project – once again I think I may have bitten off more than I can chew with this project but if I can pull it off it will be magic!

