I have finally finished a project! Someone mentioned the other day that the advent of Ravelry has promoted the demise of many knitting blogs and I tend to agree, it’s a shame as I miss reading some of those blogs. When we went to Queensland recently I took a few projects with me but I still started another that I thought would be a quick knit. Ultimately it was a quick knit but running out of yarn 2/3 of the way through led to a delay and the lack of availability of the same yarn led to stagnating. Eventually I just went and bought a ball of yarn in a contrast colour and frogged the first sock back to the heel and started again so….

I decided quite some time ago that I wanted to knit Pete’s niece Kate some socks. This year she is doing Year 12 so I wanted to get something soft and comfortable and warm and quick to knit done to keep her cozy while studying over the Winter. I had the Blueberry Waffle Socks on my Ravelry queue so thought I’d give them a go (anything to reduce the queue as I keep adding to it 🙂 ).

I love Kate so much – she is such a great person. She’s beautiful and funny and she LOVES our kids so much. When we go to stay with them it’s like they are hers – a lovely break for me and no complaints from her. One of the things I love best about Kate is that she openly admits that sometimes she just doesn’t like people! Love it! She just knows when she needs some time out. She is in Italy at the moment so these will be waiting for her to slip into when she gets home.

Pattern: Bluberry Waffle Socks by Sandy Turner
Yarn: 8ply Shepherd – Colour for Me
Needles: 3.75mm double pointed needles
Project started: 8 March 2010
Project completed: 1 April 2010

Notes: Loved knitting this pattern – it was pretty quick when I actually worked on it and easy to remember. Great for quick boot socks. Will probably use this pattern again but there are so many patterns out there so who knows!

