Thanks to one of the Ixchel Bunny fibre clubs I had some lovely Mohair/Angora/Blue Face Leicester to spin up.  It has sat in the shed – and now my study cupboard – for quite a while as I really didn’t know what to do with it.  The plait was so soft to touch and so vibrantly coloured but only about 100g.  Too nice for socks.  After Mum passed away I needed something easy so I pulled it out one morning and spun it all up.  The singles were so lovely and the kids did a lot of arguing about who the potential end product would belong to.  I had thought I would ply it with some singles from our sheep but the colours were so lovely that I settled on Navajo Plying instead.  It had been a long time since I had done any Navajo Plying but I had a go and the resulting yarn was soft and bouncy and just the right WPI to knit up the New Directions Hat by Margaret K.K. Radcliffe in 101 Designer one-skein Wonders edited by Judith Durant.  I didn’t take any before and during photos but I wish I had have as it really was a beautiful process.

The weekend has left me with a bad taste in my mouth but more on that in a few days when we can all eat again…

