I have begun a new dress – I have a wedding to go to on Thursday afternoon and thought a new dress would be nice.  Of course, it wont be ready by Thursday but the thought of it did give me the motivation to start it!  I am a novice sewer but shouldn’t be – I did textiles at school and Mum used to sew beautifully.  I think the problem is the fear of stuffing it up, the poor attention to detail and the fear of failure and another lot of fabric wasted.

I did have high hopes but hit a stumbling block at the very beginning – couldn’t work out how to lie out the pattern.  I put it all out and was really happy with it then read the pattern notes which show you how to lay it out…..yeah right, read the notes first!  Much better use of the fabric!

IMG_0770

First attempt.

IMG_0771
Getting it right!

