I have really enjoyed reading this book but it was a “slow” read for me – read here that it took longer than my usual 2-3days.  Persecution seems to be a theme in programs, movies and books I am choosing to watch and read – not by conscious choice, just coincidence, but I guess it’s because it is so rife.  I enjoyed the snippets about book conservation, the stories that each discovery lead to and the writing style which changed between chapters.

This is the second Geraldine Brooks novel I have read and I am interested in looking up her part in the 2011 Boyer Lectures at some point when I have some time to really listen to them.  I am also going to order her non-fiction books from the library to read – I find her to be an interesting person with lots of amazing life experience and am keen to find out more about her experiences.

