We had visitors last night which was a good excuse to try something new (to me) and use up some of the overgrown squash.  We cooked up a butterflied lamb which I had marinated in some vegie oil, soy sauce, garlic, salt and sesame seeds.  Along side that I made up Pete’s Mum’s simple Italian Potato Salad which uses up heaps of green beans – I am not really sure how she makes it but my guess is written below – her’s is always so much better and I can’t work out why -?more salt.  Then I made up the Stuffed Pattypan Squash recipe you can find here but I substituted the bacon with yummy homemade salami which gave the stuffing a spicy, smokey taste.  The visitors brought a Greek Salad.  Yummy Yummy food!

Pete’s Mum’s Potato Salad

Green Beans
Potatoes
Olive oil
Salt

Top and tail beans and throw into a pot of water.  Bring to boil.  Toss in chopped potatoes (if they are the washed variety I don’t peel them and Pete doesn’t like it!).  Boil until potatoes are soft.  Add salt to taste.  Drain and cool slightly then drizzle on olive oil.  Toss to serve.

Easy, yummy, effective and you can put in as many beans as you like.  The kids scoff the beans done this way.

Luckily the squash was yummy too as I have another 8 to use so I think this may be a bit of a side dish this week to compliment my meal plan.  They’d be a good lunch with a tiny green salad too.

