When I picked up the kids from the bus last night, I noted the joy with which they bounced towards the car.  I know it’s only the first week back but it was still not the normal “getting off the bus” demeanour.  With them in such a good mood I suggested a trip down the street to get the mail hoping that the new blender I ordered would be waiting at the post office – a vain hope as it only got shipped yesterday.  We went to the local bakery and bought a treat and then came home.  I asked them what had been so good about school today and they both said they had a new art teacher (they love their usual teacher but a change is fun) who started a new project with them.  The conversation went like this:

“What was so goo about art today?”, I asked.

“Mum, we had to deconstruct wool and then make something with it”, they tell me.

“Deconstruct wool?”, I ask.

“Yeah, it was so much fun!”, they say.

“What do you mean, “deconstruct wool”?”, I question.

“I’ll show you”, says Sophie pulling a heap of red wool threads from her pocket and producing a lightly felted piece of white wool shaped in a circle.

“Oh”, I say, “You’ve been felting!”.

“Miss B is so good, she’s even made her own hat out of felted wool!”, they tell me.  “I wish we had wool for felting”.

I swear I nearly fell over.

“Mum, do you know how to felt?”.  Incredulously I looked at them both.  I mean, I breastfed these kids while spinning & knitting & felting!  We have a house FULL of yarn & fibre!  I am always knitting or spinning or doing fibre preparation.  Off to the spare room we went & dived into the boxes of yarn & fibre – the shock and joy was beautiful – then into the bathroom we went….

Sophie lamented not enough wool to make a ball & I told her to go grab a handful of wool from the bag on the back verandah.  “What, the wool Rex gave you?”

“Yes!”, I reply.

“There’s so much and there are so many colours in it!”.

Fancy finding two children who love wool living under my and fancy living in a house full of fibre!  I had better send some in to school next week!

I am still shaking my head, “I wish we had wool”……..IMG_2667 IMG_2668 IMG_2669 IMG_2671 IMG_2672 IMG_2673 IMG_2674 IMG_2675

